Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM American National Biography Online. © Oxford University Press, 2019. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in American National Biography Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Thompson, Jimlocked

(27 September 1906–07 April 1977)
  • Leonard Cassuto


Thompson, Jim (27 September 1906–07 April 1977), writer, was born James Myers Thompson in Anadarko, Oklahoma Territory, the son of James S. Thompson, a county sheriff, and Birdie Myers Thompson. Jim Thompson grew up in rural poverty in Nebraska and Texas. He began drinking as a teenager, a prelude to a life of alcoholism....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Access to the full content requires a subscription